National squad trains for first time after World Cup, without Ronaldo

in News · 03-09-2018 14:57:00 · 0 Comments
National squad trains for first time after World Cup, without Ronaldo

Portugal's national football team is today (Monday) due to have its first training session ahead of a friendly game against Croatia, on Thursday, and for the team's debut in the UEFA Nations League against Italy, four days later, but without regular team captain and star player Cristiano Ronaldo.

The Juventus forward was not included in the list of 24 players selected by coach Fernando Santos, as he is in a period of accimatisation at his new club side. The squad includes four newcomers – Gedson Fernandes, Cláudio Ramos, Pedro Mendes and Sérgio Oliveira.

The team's training is due to start at 5.30 p.m. in Cidade do Futebol, in Oeiras, near Lisbon.

Besides Cristiano Ronaldo, the national team coach also dropped Ricardo Quaresma (Besiktas), João Mário and João Moutinho (Wolverhampton), Adrien Silva (Leicester), Manuel Fernando (Lokomotiv Moscow), Ricardo Pereira (Leicester), José Fonte (Lille), Bruno Alves (Parma) and Anthony Lopes (Lyon), who were part of the team that went to Russia for the world cup.

Fernando Santos brought back João Cancelo (Juventus), Luís Neto (Zenit Saint Petersburg), Pizzi (Benfica), Renato Sanches (Bayern Munich), Rúben Neves (Wolverhampton), Bruma (Leipzig) and Rony Lopes (Monaco).

24 call-up list:

- Goalkeepers: Beto (Goztepe, Tur), Cláudio Ramos (Tondela) and Rui Patrício (Wolverhampton, Eng).

- Defense: Cédric Soares (Southampton, Eng), João Cancelo (Juventus, Ita), Luis Neto (Zenit Saint Pertersburg, Rus), Mário Rui (Napoli, Ita), Pedro Mendes (Montpellier, Fra), Pepe (Besiktas, Tur), Raphael Guerreiro (Borussia Dortmund, Ger) and Rúben Dias (Benfica).

- Midfielders: Bruno Fernandes (Sporting), Gedson Fernandes (Benfica), Pizzi (Benfica), Renato Sanches (Bayern Munich, Ger), Rúben Neves (Wolverhampton, Eng), Sérgio Oliveira (FC Porto) and William Carvalho (Betis, Spain).

- Forwards: André Silva (Sevilha, Spain), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City, Eng), Bruma (Leipzig, Ger), Gelson Martins (Atlético de Madrid, Spain), Gonçalo Guedes (Valencia, Spain) and Rony Lopes (Monaco, Fra).


Be the first to comment on this article
Interactive Topics, send us your comments/opinion on this article.

Please note that The Portugal News may use selected comments in the printed edition of the newspaper.