President appoints three new ministers, four secretaries of state

By TPN/Lusa, in News · 18-02-2019 16:22:00 · 0 Comments
President appoints three new ministers, four secretaries of state

Portugal’s president, Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa, on Monday installed three new ministers in office, taking over responsibilities in the areas of infrastructure and housing, the cabinet office, and planning, as well as four secretaries of state.

The head of state also reappointed four other secretaries of state to the same posts as before the ministerial reshuffle.

In a short ceremony at the presidential palace of Belém, Lisbon, Nelson de Souza took office as minister of planning, Mariana Vieira da Silva as cabinet office minister and minister of administrative modernisation, and Pedro Nuno Santos as minister of infrastructure and housing.

The three new ministers had been secretaries of state and were promoted to ministerial roles in this, the fourth reshuffle since the minority Socialist government took office in late 2015. It was triggered by the choice of Pedro Marques, the minister of planning and infrastructure, as top candidate for the 26 May elections to the European Parliament.

As for the new secretaries of state, Duarte Cordeiro took over as assistant at the cabinet office and for parliamentary affairs, Maria do Céu Albuquerque for regional development, Jorge Moreno Delgado for infrastructure, and Alberto Souto de Miranda for communications.

Four other secretaries of state were reappointed: Tiago Antunes at the cabinet office, Luís Goes Pinheiro, for administrative modernisation, Rosa Monteiro for citizenship and equality, and Ana Pinho for housing.


Be the first to comment on this article
Interactive Topics, send us your comments/opinion on this article.

Please note that The Portugal News may use selected comments in the printed edition of the newspaper.