The electoral Law of the President of the Republic establishes that the head of state “will set the date of the first suffrage for the election for the Presidency of the Republic at least 60 days in advance”. Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa signed this decree 61 days before the election date.

If none of the candidates obtains more than half of the votes validly, “the second suffrage will take place on the twenty-first day after the first “between the two most voted for candidates" – in this case, will be on 14 February.