On a list dominated by Bayern Munich, winner of the last Champions League, Ronaldo has the 'company' of Argentinian Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona), who appears for the 12th time in the choices, and Polish Robert Lewandowski, elected UEFA player of the year in 2020.

Since 2007, the captain of the Portuguese national team has always been elected to the best UEFA fan team.

The 'eleven' is complete with Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich), Thiago Alcântara (Bayern Munich/Liverpool), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City) and Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain).

The 50 nominees were selected by the UEFA editorial team on the basis of players' performance in European competitions and national championships between January and December 2020.