According to the updated list released on Wednesday by the Federal Department of Public Health, ten more countries were added, including Portugal, and five regions of neighboring countries.

Among the countries are Spain, Cyprus, Lebanon or Monaco, with the mandatory ten days of quarantine.

This determination has been suspended for travellers from Croatia, Denmark, Georgia, Luxembourg and Serbia.

The neighboring regions of Provence-Alpes-Côte d`Azur, Emilia-Romagna and Friuli-Venezia Giulia in Italy, Thuringia in eastern Germany and Salzburg in Austria were added to the list.

Non compliance could result in a fine of up to 10,000 Swiss francs [about 9,200 Euros], and a negative test of covid-19 does not automatically end quarantine.

The decision to add a country or region to the list depends on the incidence of covid-19 for the past 14 days, specifically the number of new infections per 100,000 inhabitants. If the incidence of a country exceeds at least 60 in relation to Switzerland, the country becomes part of the list.