According to a note from the government, only repatriation flights are allowed from Brazil and the United Kingdom and citizens arriving in Portugal from these countries, as well as from South Africa, on repatriation flights or via stopovers, not only have to present proof of a negative test for Covid-19 but also have to comply with a 14-day prophylactic isolation period.

“Passengers arriving in the national territory without proof of having tested for SARS CoV-2 infection must perform it inside the airport, at their own expense, through qualified health professionals, and must await the result at the airport itself “, says the statement.

The note from the office of the Minister of Internal Administration also says that passengers from countries with an incidence rate of 500 cases or more per 100,000 inhabitants “can only make essential trips” and are also subject to prophylactic isolation from 14 days. The list of these countries includes Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Cyprus, Slovenia, Estonia, France, Hungary, Italy, Malta, Poland and Sweden.

As part of the control of the land border with Spain, the Government emphasises that nationals, or those with legal residence in the national territory from the United Kingdom, Brazil, South Africa or countries with an incidence rate of 500 cases per 100 thousand inhabitants, will also have to carry out a period of prophylactic isolation of 14 days. Within the framework of the measures in force at the land border, “circulation between Portugal and Spain - and only at Authorised Crossing Points - is limited to the international transport of goods, duly documented cross-border and seasonal workers, and emergency vehicles. Travel is not permitted for the purposes of tourism”.