According to Instituto Português do Mar e da Atmosphere (IPMA), the districts of Viana do Castelo, Braga, Porto, Aveiro, Vila Real, Bragança, Viseu, Guarda, Coimbra, Castelo Branco, Leiria, Setúbal, Lisbon and Santarém will be under a yellow warning between 17:00 on Thursday and 03:00 on Friday.

This yellow warning extends to the districts of Portalegre, Évora, Beja and Faro from 00:00 on Friday and 06:00 on Saturday.

The yellow warning is issued by IPMA whenever there is a risk for certain activities depending on the weather situation.

IPMA predicts from Thursday, and at least until Sunday, periods of rain, which may be heavy at times, a drop in the maximum temperature and moderate to strong wind in the highlands.