“The obligation to comply with the 14-day quarantine also applies to citizens entering national territory - by air, land or sea - who have left six other southern African countries (South Africa, Botswana, Essuatini, Lesotho , Namibia and Zimbabwe) in the 14 days prior to their arrival in Portugal”, informs a statement from the Ministry of Internal Administration (MAI).

The MAI explains the measures applied to air traffic that took effect on 1 December, when mainland Portugal went into a state of calamity due to the increase in the number of Covid-19 cases, a level that will remain until 20 March, 2022.

It further adds that essential and non-essential travels continue to be allowed for passengers from Member States of the European Union and countries associated with the Schengen Area, Brazil, the USA, the United Kingdom and administrative countries and regions, whose epidemiological situation is according to a recommendation by the European Union.

From other countries, non-essential travel is also allowed for vaccinated or recovered passengers. Otherwise, only essential trips are allowed, namely those intended to allow the transit or entry into Portugal of citizens for professional, study, family reunion reasons, for health reasons or for humanitarian reasons, he adds.