Canadian international midfielder Stephen Eustáquio, in the 10th minute, opened the scoring and Spanish midfielder Marcano, in the 86th minute, extended FC Porto's lead.

The dragons managed to win the trophy for the first time, in the fifth final they played, while Sporting, who had won the two previous, continues with a total of four trophies, in seven finals played.