The champions of their respective categories, whose results were revealed earlier this week, were the nominees for the grand award.

The six novels that are up for grabs are:

  • Strange Sally Diamond (Liz Nugent)
  • The Bee Sting (Paul Murray), Poor (Katriona O'Sullivan)
  • A Thread of Violence (Mark O'Donnell
  • I Am the Wind: Irish Poems for Children Everywhere (Edited by Lucinda Jacob and Sarah Webb, illustrated by Ashwin Chacko)
  • The Grass Ceiling (Eimear Ryan)

The nominees for Book of the Year were selected based on who received the most votes overall during the shortlisting process.

A team of judges that includes award-winning novelist Sinead Moriarty, Sunday Independent literary editor Madeleine Keane, and RTÉ Gold presenter Rick O'Shea will select the winner.

The panel's verdict will be made public during an hour-long television programme on RTÉ One on Wednesday, December 6th, starting at 10.35 p.m., hosted by Oliver Callan.