The Portuguese captain picked up the trophy in 2008 and 2013 and now, as a triple award winner, joins the likes of the Dutch pair Johan Cruyff, Marco van Basten and France’s Michel Platini, even if they won when it was only for European players.

In his acceptance speech, Ronaldo dedicated the award to his club, his family and the people of Portugal.

In 2014, Cristiano Ronaldo scored 61 goals in 60 games and helped Real Madrid win the European champions league as well as other trophies such as the world club championship.

Ronaldo is now one Ballon d’Or behind his Argentinean rival Lionel Messi who picked up four in a row between 2009 and 2012.