Under the motto “The Tagus is a show”, the competition will see Portuguese sailors Jorge Lima and Hélder Basílio, Swiss Nicklas Dackhammar, winner of the first edition, French Damien Iehl, Australian Torvar Mirsky, Dutch Afrodite Ziegers and Tobias Tanis and Spanish Sofia Toro.

“I hope it is a great success,” Lima said. “It is a sport intrinsically connected to the sea and, therefore, it enhances the best of Lisbon.”

Francisco Mello e Castro, CEO of Regatta Portugal, presented some new ideas for this year, which is to have a more festive feel to attract more spectators.

“Our goal this year was to turn the Tagus into a show on water and on land,” he said. “Staging the races following a sunset concept was a great challenge, but we believe it is a winning concept”

Sailors are to compete in “Fleet Racing” mode, which is to start at 5pm each day of the competition.