Portugal kick-off the semi-finals at the Estádio do Dragão, home of FC Porto, on Wednesday, 5 June against Switzerland and a day later England and the Netherlands lock horns at the Estádio Dom Afonso Henriques in Guimarães. The final takes place at the Estádio do Dragão on Sunday, 9 June.

Ronaldo has scored eighty-five goals for Portugal against thirty-seven countries but Switzerland are not one of them; a good time to break his duck! Benfica’s teenage sensation João Félix is in the host squad and there is a recall for veteran midfielder João Moutinho as well as Braga striker Dyego Sousa. Leicester City’s player of the year Ricardo Pereira can consider himself unlucky to miss out. Benfica and Wolverhampton Wanderers supply four players each.

Full Squad: Goalkeepers: Rui Patrício (Wolves), Beto (Goztepe), José Sá (Olympiakos). Defence: João Cancelo (Juventus), Nélson Semedo (Barcelona), José Fonte (Lille), Pepe (Porto), Rúben Dias (Benfica), Raphaël Guerreiro (Borussia Dortmund), Mário Rui (Napoli). Midfield: Danilo Pereira (Porto), Rúben Neves (Wolves), William Carvalho (Real Betis), Bruno Fernandes (Sporting), João Moutinho (Wolves), Pizzi (Benfica). Forwards: Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), João Félix (Benfica), Gonçalo Guedes (Valencia) Rafa Silva (Benfica), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Diogo Jota (Wolves), Dyego Sousa (Braga)

England include Harry Kane, one of six Spurs players in their squad, and former Sporting Lisbon protégé Eric Dier. Premier League Champions Manchester City have four players in the party including Raheem Sterling who scored twice in the 6-0 demolition of Watford in the FA Cup Final.