Sporting win 2nd men's roller hockey European title 42 years later

By TPN/Lusa, in Sport · 13-05-2019 09:03:00 · 0 Comments
Sporting win 2nd men's roller hockey European title 42 years later

Sporting have won their second ever European men's roller hockey title, 42 years after their first, beating FC Porto 5-2 in the final of the World Skate Europe Rink Hockey Final 4 at their own João Rocha Pavilion.

The scorers for Sporting were Toni Pérez, Vítor Hugo, Ferran Font (two goals) and Gonzalo Romero, with the team already winning 4-1 at half-time.

This was the third time Sporting had reached the final of the championship, but only the second time they have won. The first was in the 1976/77 season.

Reinaldo Garcia and Gonçalo Alves were the goal-scorers for Porto, who lost in what was their 12th final and 10th consecutive final. The club has won the European championship twice, in 1985/86 and 1989/90.

One other Portuguese club, Benfica, also of Lisbon, can also boast two European titles (2012/13 and 2015/16), while Óquei de Barcelos won once, in 1990/91.

In all Portuguese clubs have won seven championships, against 46 for Spanish clubs, with 22 titles for FC Barcelona.


Be the first to comment on this article
Interactive Topics, send us your comments/opinion on this article.

Please note that The Portugal News may use selected comments in the printed edition of the newspaper.