For the third time this decade, Viseu is the starting point of the volta, after 2010 and 2015, with a six-km practically flat opening stage, on the Avenida da Europa, around the historic central area of the city.

Winner of the last two tours, Spain’s Raúl Alarcón (W52-FC Porto) was injured one month ago will not be competing.

Three previous winners, Alejandro Marques, Gustavo Veloso from Spain and Ricardo Mestre from Portugal will be competing.

The 81st Volta beginning on Wednesday, contains 10 stages and a rest day, and passes through 'mythical' points such as Torre (fourth stage) or Senhora da Graça (ninth stage) before finishing in a time trial between Vila Nova de Gaia and Porto, which hosts the final stage for the first time in 30 years.