Both districts will be under the orange notice until 12:00 today, when it will then drop to a yellow warning until 15:00.

The IPMA has also placed the districts of Vila Real, Porto, Viseu, Aveiro, Coimbra and Leiria under a yellow warning until 15:00 today because of heavy rain and the possibility of thunderstorms.

Also under yellow warning are the districts of Viana do Castelo, Braga, Porto, Aveiro, Coimbra and Leiria due to rough seas, with waves up to 4 and 5 metres predicted.

The yellow wave warning will be in effect until 12:00 on Wednesday.