Speaking at the end of the Council of Ministers meeting that extended the state of calamity until 11 July, the Minister of the Presidency, Mariana Vieira da Silva, explained that there are 25 municipalities that have presented incidence rates above 120 for two consecutive weeks and for this reason, fall back to the 4th phase of easing of lockdown.

One of the practical implications of this step back is the return to the mandatory telework regime.

In this situation: Alcochete, Almada, Amadora, Arruda dos Vinhos, Barreiro, Braga, Cascais, Grândola, Lagos, Loulé, Loures, Mafra, Moita, Montijo, Odemira, Odivelas, Oeiras, Seixal, Setúbal, Palmela, Sardoal, Sines, Sintra, Sobral de Monte Agraço and Vila Franca de Xira.

In addition to these 25, remote working wherever possible, is also mandatory in the municipalities of Lisbon and Albufeira, which fall under the rules of the 3rd phase, joining Sesimbra.

In the remaining municipalities of mainland Portugal this work regime is only recommended.

Mariana Vieira da Silva also mentioned that there is a group of 19 councils that are in a situation of alert, stressing that the balance of the evolution of the disease's spread indicates that “Portugal is clearly in the red zone” of the risk matrix that has been defined by the Government (incidence rate and Rt), and that the country currently presents “worrying levels”, which prevents it from advancing in the easing of lockdown plan that had been defined.