The new rules also provide for users of electric or hydrogen vehicles to be able to pay with bank cards or contactless devices, without the need for a subscription, and for the price to be indicated per kWh, kilogramme or minute/session.

The directive foresees the installation of stations with a minimum power of 400 kilowatts (kW) at a distance of at least every 60 km on the main roads of the trans-European transport network (TEN) by 2026, increasing the power to 600 kW by 2028.

Member States shall also ensure that hydrogen charging stations are installed along the TEN core network at least every 200 km by 2031.

The new rules will apply six months after the regulation enters into force.