The announcement was made by the State Department, in a statement in which it indicated that Cyprus and Kyrgyzstan had also moved up to that category.

With regard to Portugal, the recommendation is specifically because of the pandemic.

The travel warnings were issued based on the recommendation of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), which placed Portugal and Spain at “level 4”, due to the pandemic.