This recommendation, which will apply from March 1, 2022, “follows the evolution of the pandemic, the increase in the vaccination rate and the administration of booster doses, as well as the recognition of a greater number of certificates issued by third countries”, says the European Council.

Under this recommendation, which will apply from 1 March 2022, restrictions related to Covid-19 must be applied, taking into account “both the situation in the third country and the individual status of the person”. Member States shall allow persons who have been given an EU or WHO approved vaccine, persons who have recovered and all persons travelling from an EU-listed country to make non-essential journeys. However, the European Council admits that “some of these travellers may have to undergo additional measures, such as carrying out a PCR test before travelling”.

According to the EC, the following categories of persons should be allowed to travel into the EU under certain conditions:

- Vaccinated and recovered persons

- Essential travellers

- Non-essential travellers from countries on the EU's list

- Vaccinated and recovered persons

Travellers should be allowed to enter the EU if they meet one of the following conditions:

- They have completed the full primary vaccination series of a COVID-19 vaccine approved by the EU or the World Health Organization (WHO) and fewer than 270 days have passed since the completion of that series

- They have received a booster of an EU or WHO approved COVID-19 vaccine

- They have recovered from COVID-19 within 180 days prior to travel

“Member states should use the EU digital COVID certificate or third- country equivalent certificates as proof of vaccination and recovery.

“For persons vaccinated with a WHO-approved vaccine, member states could also require a negative PCR test taken at the earliest 72 hours before departure and could apply additional measures such as quarantine or isolation.

“A negative PCR test before departure could also be required for persons who have recovered from COVID-19, as well as for persons who have been vaccinated with an EU-approved vaccine but do not hold an EU or equivalent certificate”.