This year, 40 countries entered the competition, but 25 reach the final, of which 20 were selected in two semi-finals, which took place on Tuesday and Thursday, also in Turin.

The 66th edition of the Eurovision Song Contest, which has been held annually in Europe since 1956, initially included 41 countries, but the European Broadcasting Union, which promotes the contest, announced on February 25, the day after the invasion of Ukraine, that Russia would be left out.

The20 countries that have gone through are joined by the so-called 'Big Five' - France ("Fullen", Alvan & Ahez), Germany ("Rockstars", Malik Harris), Italy ("Brividi", Mahmood & Blanco), Spain (“SloMo”, Chanel) and the United Kingdom (“Space Man”, Sam Ryder).

The Portuguese representative, Maro, won the Song Festival in March, with “Saudade, Saudade”. Maro performs in the contest accompanied by a female choir, as she had done in the final of the Festival da Canção, which includes Beatriz Fonseca, Beatriz Pessoa, Carolina Leite, Diana Castro and Milhanas.

Maro will be the third to play in the final, which can be watched live, in Portugal, from 20:00 on RTP1.

According to the bookies, Ukraine is tipped to take the top spot, with Italy, the UK and Sweden predicted to follow.