The then-'blue and white' leader (A), who received 5,224 votes (19.52%), lost to the former coach of the Porto football team (list B) in the club's most attended election ever, while businessman and teacher Nuno Lobo (C) solidified his position as the third and last most voted candidate in 2020 with just 53 votes (0.2%).

José Lourenço Pinto, the chairman of the General Assembly, reported that on a day when a record 26,876 members chose the governing bodies for the 2024–2028 quadrennium at the Estádio do Dragão in Porto, there were also 73 blank votes and 37 null votes.

With the historic victory of 46-year-old André Villas-Boas, 86-year-old Pinto da Costa, the longest-serving manager in international football, has ended his presidential tenure. Pinto da Costa had been in command of FC Porto since April 17, 1982.

António Tavares and Angelino Ferreira, proposed by the former coach's list, triumphed in the race to head the Board of the General Assembly and the Supervisory and Disciplinary Board, respectively, bodies that will no longer be led by José Lourenço Pinto, number one in Pinto da Costa's re-election bid, and Jorge Guimarães.

The Board of Governors elected 20 full members using the d'Hondt method, including 15 from List B, four from List A and one from the autonomous movement led by lawyer and university professor Miguel Brás da Cunha (D), who only ran for the advisory body.


A passionate Irish journalist with a love for cycling, politics and of course Portugal especially their sausage rolls.

Rory Mc Ginn