Dutch move Portugal to amber list.

By TPN/Lusa, in News · 15-07-2021 14:56:00 · 1 Comments

The Dutch government on 15 July decided to remove Portugal from the list of areas designated as "safe" under the Covid-19 pandemic, and advises its citizens, vaccinated or not, to avoid travel to the Portuguese mainland.

According to the Spanish agency EFE, the decision of Netherlands takes effect on 16 July.

Along with Portugal, Spain, including the Spanish islands of the Canary Islands and Balearic Islands, and Cyprus are also now “painted” in orange, meaning that they are not recommended destinations for non-essential travel.

“Unfortunately, this week's Public Health Institute (RIVM) board has shown that it is not a temporary increase: there is a worrying trend in the numbers of infections in these regions,” indicated the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

All Dutch citizens travelling to these destinations need to have a certificate of complete vaccination for at least 14 days, or of recovery from Covid-19 disease.

Otherwise, and for unvaccinated people, it is necessary to have a negative test for Covid-19 – a PCR (molecular test) performed within a maximum period of 72 hours or a rapid antigen test performed within a maximum period of 48 hours – before return to Dutch territory.

People who are already in these destinations must present proof when they return to the Netherlands from next Sunday, according to the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs, which clarifies that travellers will not be subjected to quarantine when returning home.

Dutch diplomacy recognizes the “great impact” this decision has on travellers, arguing, however, that travelling abroad “is and remains a risk” in the pandemic.

Last Monday, Dutch Prime Minister Mark Rutte admitted that the government had committed a mistake by lifting some restrictions and apologized, at a time when the Netherlands is suffering a significant increase in covid-19 cases.

According to the international press new cases in the Netherlands increased by 500 percent after the lifting of restrictions.

Related articles


We are in Portugal now (Vale de bispo) and have been told that all restaurants and bars will be closed from 7 o'clock on the 16th jul

By Mick from Algarve on 15-07-2021 06:50
Interactive Topics, send us your comments/opinion on this article.

Please note that The Portugal News may use selected comments in the printed edition of the newspaper.