The strike was called by a platform of eight union organizations: Fenprof, ASPL, Pró-Ordem, SEPLEU, SINAPE, SINDEP, SIPE, and SPLIU.

After the first day in Lisbon, the strikes continue in Aveiro, Beja, Braga, Bragança, Castelo Branco, Coimbra, Évora, Faro, Guarda, Leiria, Portalegre, Santarém, Setúbal, Viana do Castelo, Vila Real, Viseu, ending in Porto on the 8th of February.

Similar to what will happen in Lisbon, demonstrations are planned in the district capitals for the day they are on strike.

The eight unions, who had initially considered that it was not the “suitable moment” for a strike, given that the negotiation process with the Ministry of Education on the competition regime was underway, decided to call the strike after having given the guardianship a deadline to retreat from some of the proposals presented in previous negotiations and open new negotiation processes on other matters.

The deadline ended on the 10th of January, and the day before, the Ministry of Education had convened the third round of negotiations for the 18th and 20th, in which a proposal for a negotiating calendar on other topics would also be discussed.

However, Fenprof's general secretary explained that the fight actions on the agenda would remain as planned, because "calling a meeting, by itself, does not change anything".

The strike by districts takes place at the same time as two other stoppages are taking place: an indefinite strike, called by STOP, which began on December 9th and will continue, at least, until the end of the month, and a partial strike at the first half of classes called by SIPE, is expected to last until February.

Related articles: