At the meeting of the Council of Ministers, the Government approved the passage of the 19 parishes of five AML municipalities - Lisbon, Loures, Odivelas, Amadora and Sintra - which had been in a state of calamity since the beginning of July.

Thus, the entire AML, which consists of 18 municipalities, will be from 1 August and until 23:59 on 14 August in a contingency situation.

The remaining territory of mainland Portugal will remain on alert, the level that the country was in before the state of emergency was decreed on 18 March and which is the lowest level of intervention provided for in the Civil Protection Bases Law, after contingency and calamity (higher).

In the islands, the Government of Madeira decided at the beginning of the week to extend the calamity situation until 31 August and the Government of the Azores stipulated the same state for the five islands with air connections to the outside of the archipelago (and alert for the remaining four) until 1 August.

Mainland Portugal (with the exception of the Lisbon Metropolitan Area)

Most of the country will remain on alert, with the following restrictions in place:

- Mandatory home or hospital confinement for people infected with Covid-19 or subject to active surveillance.

- The rules of physical distancing, use of masks, capacity levels, and hygiene practices are maintained.

- Gatherings limited to 20 people.

- Prohibition of alcohol consumption on public roads.

- The restaurant operating rules are maintained, but the possibility of public access for new admissions is extended until midnight and the establishment closes at 1am.

- Bars, other drinks establishments without shows and drinks establishments with dance space remain closed, but they can now function as cafes or pastry shops, without the need to change the respective classification of economic activity, if the rules of the Directorate General of Health are complied with and the spaces used for dancing remain unusable for the purpose.

The bars and clubs that opt ??for this hcan operate until 8pm in the Metropolitan Area of ??Lisbon and until 1am (with entry limit at 12am) in the rest of the continental territory, such as restaurants.

- Open sports activities that were still closed and specific rules for physical and sports activities are defined (the practice of physical and sports activities, in the context of training and in a competitive context, can be performed without an audience).

Lisbon Metropolitan Area

The Lisbon Metropolitan Area encompasses 18 municipalities in Greater Lisbon and the Setúbal Peninsula, namely Alcochete, Almada, Amadora, Barreiro, Cascais, Lisbon, Loures, Mafra, Moita, Montijo, Odivelas, Oeiras, Palmela, Seixal, Sesimbra, Setúbal, Sintra and Vila Franca de Xira.

This territory remains in a state of contingency and with more restrictive containment measures:

- Mandatory home or hospital confinement for people infected with Covid-19 or subject to active surveillance.

- Limitation of 10 people in the gatherings.

- Prohibition of consumption of alcoholic beverages in outdoor spaces.

- Prohibition of selling alcoholic beverages in service areas and petrol stations.

- Most commercial establishments close at 8pm.

- Hypermarkets and supermarkets can remain open until 10pm, but cannot sell alcohol after 8pm.

- Restaurants can operate beyond 8pm for on-site meals (both inside establishments and on licensed terraces), on a take-away or home delivery service.

- No closing time is imposed for fuel supply services (they can operate 24 hours a day exclusively for the sale of fuel), pharmacies, funeral homes, sports equipment, clinics, offices and veterinarians.