Portugal back on German green list

By TPN/Lusa, in News, COVID-19, Tourism · 06-07-2021 09:55:00 · 3 Comments

Germany on 5 July removed Portugal from the list of countries that are banned from entering due to the high prevalence of the Delta strain of the Covid-19 virus.

The ban on entry into Germany has been lifted for five countries, the United Kingdom, India, Russia and Nepal, as well as Portugal, announced the Robert-Koch Institute for Health Surveillance, and will come into force on 7 July.

Portugal has been classified by Germany as an area with “concern variants” regarding the pandemic, namely due to the spread of the Delta strain, which had resulted in a travel ban in place since last week.

According to the new standards announced on 5 July by the Robert-Koch Institute, Portugal and the other four countries will be removed to the second level of risk, called "high incidence areas" of the Covid-19 variant.

Travelers from areas in this category are not required to be quarantined if they can prove that they are fully vaccinated, or that they have been infected and have recovered.

Eleven countries will continue on the red list: Brazil, Mozambique, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe, South Africa and Uruguay.

On Thursday of last week, Germany had already admitted a reduction in the assessment of Portugal.

The German ban on travel to Portugal was the only ban in the European Union when the Covid-19 digital certificate was available.

Related articles


How can Namibia a country where majority of the land is deserts and mountains become listed as Red for a flu?

By Magnus from Other on 20-07-2021 06:22

Things in Portugal will just get worse until the day the majority discovers they have a backbone and get rid of the corrupts and parasites!

By Tony Fernandes from Other on 06-07-2021 02:46

Them so called ‘larger’ nations toying Portugal around as if a rag doll.
Then we got Costa the EU ‘Yes’ man kow towing to everything they say.

By Carla D. from Lisbon on 06-07-2021 11:12
Interactive Topics, send us your comments/opinion on this article.

Please note that The Portugal News may use selected comments in the printed edition of the newspaper.