This award is intended to distinguish people, groups or organisations from all over the world that have demonstrated their impact on climate change.

The prize was awarded for the first time, in 2020, to the young Swedish activist Greta Thunberg. Last year, the Covenant of Mayors for Climate and Energy was the winner.

Angela Merkel is the new president of the Jury of the Gulbenkian Humanity Prize, succeeding Jorge Sampaio, who has been the president of the jury since its first edition.