In a resolution of the Council of Ministers, the executive created “a strategic reserve of water in the reservoirs associated with the hydroelectric plants” identified in the diploma. In addition, it determined “the temporary suspension of the use of the water resources of the identified reservoirs” of the resolution “from October 1, 2022, until the minimum quotas of useful capacity may be established are reached”.

The reservoirs in question are Alto Lindoso, Alto Rabagão, Alqueva, Castelo do Bode, Caniçada, Cabril, Paradela, Lagoa Comprida, Salamonde, Santa Luzia, Vilar-Tabuaço, Vilarinho das Furnas, Vendas Novas, Baixo Sabor and Gouvães .