According to the official EU statistics office, which today released a survey of minimum wages in force, Portugal (760 euros) is included in the list of 14 European Union countries with minimum wages below 1,000 euros.

As of 01 July 2023, 22 of the 27 EU Member States have a national minimum wage, including Cyprus (as of 01 January 2023), while Denmark, Italy, Austria, Finland and Sweden have no defined minimum wage.

Eurostat points out that "monthly minimum wages vary greatly between Member States, from 399 euros in Bulgaria to 2,508 euros in Luxembourg".

Among the nine candidate and potential candidate countries, seven had a national minimum wage (Montenegro, North Macedonia, Albania, Serbia, Turkey, Ukraine and Moldova), which was not the case for Bosnia or Kosovo.

Based on the level of the national gross monthly minimum wage in July, Eurostat included Portugal in the group with a national minimum wage of less than 1,000 euros per month and which also includes Cyprus, Greece, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Czech Republic, Estonia, Slovakia, Croatia, Hungary, Latvia, Romania and Bulgaria.

The national minimum wages were 1,203 euros in Slovenia and 1,260 euros in Spain.

While Luxembourg, Germany, Holland, Belgium, Ireland and France are part of the group with national minimum wages above 1,500 euros per month, ranging from 1,747 euros in France to 2,508 euros in Luxembourg.

According to Eurostat, the average annual growth rate between July 2013 and July 2023 was highest in Romania (+12.9%), followed by Lithuania (+11.2%), Bulgaria (+9.7%) and the Czech Republic (+9.0%), while the lowest among EU Member States were recorded in Malta (+1.7%) and France (+2.0%).