This 14-day prophylactic isolation measure for those coming from the United Kingdom, Brazil, South Africa or countries with 500 cases of Covid-19 per 100,000 inhabitants also extends to air and sea borders and began on 1 April when another period of state of emergency begins, lasting until 15 April.

In a statement released earlier this week, the Ministry of Internal Administration (MAI) said that flights from Brazil, the United Kingdom and South Africa will remain suspended until 15 April, with only repatriation flights and citizens arriving in Portugal from these countries on repatriation flights or via stopovers being allowed.

According to MAI, citizens coming from these flights must not only present proof of a negative test but also comply with a prophylactic isolation period of 14 days.

"Passengers arriving in the country without proof of testing for SARSCoV-2 infection must perform the test inside the airport, at their own expense, through health professionals trained for this purpose, and must await the result at the airport itself," says the Ministry of Administration and Interior.

The note from the Internal Administration Minister's Office also stressed that passengers coming from countries with an incidence rate equal to or higher than 500 cases per 100,000 inhabitants "can only make essential journeys" and are also subject to prophylactic isolation for 14 days.

These countries are Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Cyprus, Estonia, France, Hungary, Italy, Malta, Poland, Slovenia and Sweden.

Also, only passengers coming from countries where the incidence rate is equal to or higher than 150 cases per 100,000 inhabitants, such as Germany, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, Slovakia, Finland, Greece, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, the Netherlands, Romania and Switzerland can make essential journeys.

"On flights from third countries only essential travel is allowed," according to MAI.

As part of the control of the land border with Spain, nationals or legal residents in national territory from the United Kingdom, Brazil, South Africa or countries with an incidence rate equal to or greater than 500 cases per 100,000 inhabitants, will also have to comply with a prophylactic isolation period of 14 days.

In the framework of measures in force at the land border, "the circulation between Portugal and Spain is limited - and only at Authorised Crossing Points - to the international transport of goods, of cross-border and seasonal workers duly documented, and of emergency and rescue vehicles and emergency services.

In the same note, the Government also recalls that the ban on movement between municipalities, in force under the Decree regulating the State of Emergency, applies to all citizens, regardless of nationality.

In the case of citizens not residing in national territory "is only provided for the possibility of travel, after arrival in Portugal, to the place of proven residence, including a hotel or other accommodation.

These citizens, the statement stresses, are subject to "the same rules and exceptions provided for resident citizens", i.e. they may not move outside the municipality of accommodation.