The 12 average speed cameras will monitor the A1 (Santarém and Mealhada), A3 (Braga and Trofa), A25 (Águeda) and A42 (Paços de Ferreira) motorways, on complementary IC2 routes (Loures and Rio Maior, the latter on a date yet to be defined) and IC19 (Sintra) and on national roads EN10 (Montijo and Vila Franca de Xira), EN109 (Figueira da Foz) and EN211 (Marco de Canaveses).

The remaining 25 radars are designed to measure instantaneous speed and their activity will focus on controlling national roads.

Among the locations controlled from September 1st are: A1 (two in Vila Nova de Gaia), A2 (Albufeira), A44 (Vila Nova de Gaia), A7 (two in Guimarães), EN101 (Guimarães), EN103 (Barcelos ), EN105 (Santo Tirso), EN109 (Figueira da Foz), EN119 (Benavente), EN125 (Faro), EN14 (Maia), EN18 (Belmonte), EN206 (Fafe), EN234 (Nelas), EN251 (Coruche), EN252 (two radars in Palmela), EN260 (Beja), EN5 (Montijo), IC17 (Loures), IC2 (Águeda) and IP7 (Lisbon).

In addition to these radars, there are 25 more that will be activated on a “date to be announced”, according to the National Road Safety Authority (ANSR) in a report by Jornal de Notícias.