The IPMA had previously placed the districts of Bragança, Viseu, Guarda, Vila Real, Setúbal, Santarém, Leiria, Lisbon, Castelo Branco, Aveiro, Coimbra, Viana do Castelo, Braga and Porto under yellow warning.

In a new statement, the institute extended the yellow warning to the districts of Faro and Beja due to the forecast of showers, sometimes heavy, and occasionally with hail and frequent and scattered thunderstorms.

The 16 districts of the continent will be under yellow warning until 18:00 on Saturday.